Clinique Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

Hi everyone!  Hope you all had a smashin’ Halloween & Diwali! I took a short break from blogging to celebrate an entire week with my friends and family but I am back now!!

Today we are going to talk about Clinique Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30.

IMG_0870
Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

Price: INR 3,000/40ml

 

Product Claims: De-Ages, Multitasks, SPF

This instant morning routine gives skin just about everything it needs for a quick start.

 

image1

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

 

My Experience: 

This is one of those products that I loved when I first tried it out at the counter, and then I hated it for a long time thinking this does not work for me.. then I finally figured it out and fell in love with it again! Confused yet?! Let me explain!

I picked up this product on a whim at Dubai Duty Free on my way back to India about a year ago. My skin was just parched from the arid weather of Dubai and I was tanned like a baked potato. The SA at the Clinique counter there decided I was Shade 3 out of the 4 shades that this BB cream comes in. Then she applied a thin layer of their DDM Lotion which is what I always use. Over that she applied the BB cream with a foundation brush. It turned up streaky and patchy and uneven on my face. But she said that’s because my skin is tired and stressed right now and once I am back home and relaxed, it will get better. I believed her because… firstly, I love Clinique. Secondly, SPF 30?! Yes please.

So here began my Hate Story with this product. Once my tan faded off, this shade just didn’t match my face. And every time I applied it, just like the SA did, with my DDMGel underneath and paint it on with a foundation brush.. It looked very uneven and streaky. So after trying a few times, I just junked this product.

Until… one day I had a light bulb moment while watching one of my favorite you tuber Danni ( @CoffeeBreakWithMe), when she said that water based and oil based products don’t work with each other.  Soo.. I decided to give my ignored BB cream a last shot. It was peak summer, I was anyways a bit tanned and didn’t need a moisturizer underneath. I applied this cream as is, blended quickly with my fingers.. and VIOLA! It blended like a dream! Not patchy or anything!

Lesson Learnt : Don’t follow the SA blindly even if they are from a high end brand. You know your makeup n skincare game better than anyone else!

So let me break down this product for you ..

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream comes in a signature green cardboard packaging. It has all product details printed on it in silver lettering. The product itself comes in a green plastic sqeezy tube with a plastic silver cap. It has a nozzle to sqeeze out the product from. At the back, it mentions some details about the product like the shade etc.

image4

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

The cream has a thick waxy consistency, and you know it’s not water based. It feels more emollient and rich.

It has a faint fragrance even though they claim its 100% fragrance free. The scent is very mild and kind of like of a perfumed talc.

Very little of the product is required so one has to be careful to squeeze out fewer amounts as there is no way to put it back in again. It can be a little annoying but I find it more hygienic.

The product blends quite well, but you have to be quick with it as it does dry down to a powdery finish fairly quickly. If you have dry/flaky skin, this will stick to the flakes.

image2

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

 

In my opinion, the best way to apply this is to dot over small areas at a time and buff it in with a buffing brush or clean fingers. A foundation brush or sponge is best avoided. My favourite way to apply it is using my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.

Once applied and blended, it gives a medium coverage. Also, it dries down to a matte finish, no dewiness at all. On most occasions, I have not felt the need to powder this after application.

image3

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

 

image5

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 : Review & Swatches

*Blended out

This is the only BB cream I know of, that provides a SPF of 30. This is one of the main reasons I bought this product. I am obsessed with SPF! The downside to it is of course the insane white-cast you get it you commit the crime of getting flash-photographed wearing this! You would end up looking like Casper I am sure!

This BB cream has the best longevity out of all the ones I have used. It stays on me easily for about 5 to 6 hours in summer and up to 9hours in winters. Afterwards, it fades away evenly.

The company claims this BB cream has anti-aging properties, as its rich in anti-oxidants. I did not see a dramatic change in my skin per se, but while the product it on, the skin feels very comfortable and smooth.

Clinique is also known for its hypo allergenic products, and this one falls in the same category. It does not cause any breakouts on my acne prone skin and does not irritate my eyes or skin in any way.

Now, here is the problem.  The shade selection of this product is very limiting. They have only 4 shades, and almost none of them as yellow based. The shades 3 & 4 which are for medium to tan skin, are both neutral toned. And the shades 1 and 2, which are for fair to light skin, are cool toned. So finding a good match for olive/Indian skin is difficult.

 

Over all, now that I know to pair it with an oil-based moisturizer/primer and to apply it with a buffing brush, I love this BB cream! It is best suited for oily to combination skins and gives a velvety finish. It’s my go-to during summers. If you can find the right shade for yourself, I would say go grab it!

I would rate it a 4.25/5.

 

Hope you enjoyed reading this post, give it a thumbs up if you liked it. Share your thoughts in the comment bar below!

 

*POSITIVE VIBES ONLY*

Join me on Instagram & Twitter for more!

DISCLAIMER : This product has been bought by me and all opinions mentioned are my own.