Burt’s Bees Hand Salve & Lip Balms : Winter care for your Lips n Tips!

Hi guys!! I am so glad autumn has arrived,and the scorching summer is coming to an end!!

And i think it’s the perfect time to review the products i pull out every single year for these cooler months.

Todays review is of the Burts Bees Lip Balms and the Burt’s Bees Hand Salve.

So let’s begin!

Burt’s Bees Hand Salve

Price : $9 for full size. Available at Sephora India for Rs 500 for 8.5gm

Product Description : For super dry hands. Brimming with botanical oils,herbs and Beeswax,your hard working hands can finally find sweet relief. Moisturizes rough dry hands, with herbal scent. For both men & women.

20150929_185316_wm

Ingredients : Olive oil,sweet almond oil,sunflower oil,lavender oil,rosemary oil,eucalyptus oil,lavender flower oil,tocopherol,rosemary leaf extract,soybean oil, canola oil,linalool,limonene. (as mentioned on their website)

20150923_084237-01_wm

My experience :

If you have read my previous posts,you would know i am a sucker for all things natural,herbal and organic. So when Burt’s Bees was finally available in India, i was stoked! I had heard amazing reviews about their hand creams and really wanted to try them. The SA was showing me all sorts of hand,nails and cuticle creams but I spotted this tiny pot which said Hand Salve! I immediately picked it up because my hands did need some salvation!!! But the SA was trying his best to convince me that this isn’t for me. They sell it to mostly men with dry hard skin. The company itself markets it as ‘FARMER’S FRIEND’!! But if you are in a job where you have to constantly wash/scrub hands (me,dentist!) or you are a baby/toddler’s mum(me again!) ; you know your hands can look worse than a farmer working on a field all day long!

This is a truly miraculous product in my opinion. The packaging is cute and sturdy. The container is made of tin, and has our very famous Burt’s face on it! It can get a bit tricky to pop open though.  It’s much stronger than any hand cream or cuticle cream or even vaseline. The consistency is of a typical balm,like a vaporub. It has a sweet fragrance which a mix of almond,rosemary and lavender. I find it very comforting.

Because if the thick consistency, you need a very tiny amount to moisturize your hands.

I typically use it to hydrate and treat my dry cuticles and apply it overnight. It’s done a commendable job of healing my shriveled cuticles!

Burt’s Bees Lip Balms –  Rejuvenating Acai Berry & Refreshing Pink Grapefruit

Price : $3.30 each. In india, they available from Rs 500 to 1100 each depending on where you buy it from.

Product Description: Give your lips a kiss. Superfruits meet stunning lips. Healthy infusion of Vitamin A,C ,D and E, antioxidants and moisturizing omega oils. A 100% natural lip balm born to beautify and revitalize your lovely lips.

20150928_110737-01_wm

Ingredients : Featured ingredient (acai berry and pink grapefruit), sunflower oil,coconut oil, beeswax, castor oil,lanolin,rosemary leaf extract,eucalyptus oil,tocopherol,soybean oil,canola oil,anise alcohol,benzyl benzoate,benzyl cinnamate,citral,farnesol,limonene,linalool, natural flavor.

My experience :  Isn’t it annoying when your face has combination skin and you have to use mattifying products but all the rest of your body and lips are dry as parchment paper?! (is it just me?) My lips get very dry all around the year but winters are extra hard for them. They get scaly and crack if i am not meticulous about moisturizing them round the clock. So i have to use some heavy duty lip balms that actually work. I have to admit, Burt’s Bees wasn’t my first choice. I tried everything from the famous The Body Shop Born Lippies and Lip butters to the drugstore versions like Baby lips. But all of them seem to vanish on my lips within an hour or so.

So i wasn’t expecting much from these but a dear friend insisted i try these.

I have the Burt’s Bees superfruit versions with Acai Berry and Pink Grapefruit and currently i am obsessed.

20150928_110911-01_wm

The packaging is the standard retractable tube with color coded caps and color coded strips.They are very travel-friendly. The sticker on the tube mentions products details. Both the lip balms ( all super fruit versions ) come as white/transparent product with no color added to it. The fragrance is quite nice of both with strong scents of acai berry and grapefruit respectively. They glide smoothly on lips on application and deposit a thin coat on a single swipe. I personally prefer that as against a thick layer on lips like the original Burt’s Bees Beeswax lip balms have. There a slip to the product presumably due to the oils in them.

They tend to stay on my lips for about 3 to 4 hours. If i apply  overnight,i wake up to moist and supple lips.

The balms have noticeable flavors to them of the respective fruits,however,the pink grapefruit one feels slightly bitter (like orange peel). But the flavor and the scent fade away after a few minutes of application.

Overall, i quite like these Burt’s Bees products and tend to fish them out every autumn. These products are 100% natural, which always a plus point for me. The only cons for me are the difficulty to open the Hand Salve at times and they are not easily available in the Indian market.

If you can get your hands on these, you must try them out. I would rate them 4.5/5.

Have you tried any of these products?What are your thoughts on them?

Please give this post a thumbs up if you enjoyed reading it and feel free to share it with your friends!

*Positive Vibes Only*

Disclaimer : These products have been bought by m own money and all opinions mentioned are m own.


One thought on “Burt’s Bees Hand Salve & Lip Balms : Winter care for your Lips n Tips!

Comments are closed.