My Covid-19 recovery journey

As we all know, the second wave of the corona virus in India has been the deadliest in the world. The delta strain that spread so fast and infected so many, has been devastating. We were affected by it too. Here’s my experience with it.

It all began one day, with a simple sneeze and a slight threat ache. I dismissed it as its allergy season and sinusitis and rhinitis are common allergy symptoms for me. However, the throat ache got worse the next day, although I was hardly sneezing. And I felt very tired, which is also common for me as I have two over active boys who run me down by the end of the day. By the third day, I started to lose my sense of smell and that’s when I pressed the panic button. What ensued was a fortnight of pure hell.

By day 3, I started to mask up in my house and made everyone else wear masks too. I tried to isolate myself as much as possible. But the difficult part was to find a lab to do my rt-pcr test. This wave of pandemic made it quite clear to everyone that population and resources in our country are totally mismatched. The labs had started to refuse doing covid related tests as they simply couldn’t handle the sheer work load of the masses that were quickly getting infected by the virus. The the time we found a lab, I was on my day 4 and had sense of taste too. I was also having mild fever and feeling extremely fatigued. Within a couple of days, my toddler and husband also tested positive. Somehow, my preteen son was negative and had to be whisked off to his grandmothers house. not to sound too dramatic but, my mom came as a messiah rescued him.By my Day 5 we were totally quarantined and on the usual protocol of management of mildly symptomatic patients {symptomatic treatment, Kadha, steam, gargle, deep breathing exercises}. Like many, we were having the toughest time trying to procure video-consults and then trying to find the prescribed medication. I had to totally forget about my own symptoms and take care of my toddler and my husband(who was showing much severe symptoms than me),plus manage all the household chores. Day 6/7 were the worse for all of us, with the coughing and the difficulty in breathing. it felt like our lungs were on fire and would come out while coughing. Day 9/10 onwards, the fatigue hits you, even fetching a glass of water feels like a big task. My husband had severe cough and he couldn’t manage the respiratory distress, so he had to be put on further medications. we all felt better after our fortnight of quarantine was over but even now, almost 2 months post the infection, we are not at our 💯.

My take-aways from this experience, which I hope would be helpful to others in the world :

If there is a prevalence of covid cases where you live, especially the delta strain, get yourself tested at the earliest on onset of any symptom. All and every symptom can be covid.

If you do get a positive report, know that this is going to be a war. You have to be strong mentally as well as physically to win this war. You have to keep reminding yourself that you will beat this virus, surround yourself with powerful and positive thoughts.

The diagnosis and treatment of covid is costly. Money drains away without one realising it as at that time, your only concern is to save lives. So save up and be prepared.

Dont be bothered with unsolicited advice and suggestions. No one will be there to help you physically during quarantine, only follow and trust your doctors.

If some people are not calling up and checking up one, dont think they dont care. At this time in the world, everyone is fighting some battle of their own.

Rest, intake fluids and repeat.

We masked, we took all measures including the non-conventional preventive methods but we still got infected. Post covid, there are many symptoms which cropping up and vanishing on their own. Doctors couple everything under ‘Post Covid Syndrome’.

Do not take this pandemic lightly. Mask up, sanitise, get vaccinated and keep faith.

We all have lost some near and dear ones in this wave. Families have been torn apart. Lets spread empathy and love, not judgment and hate.

Keep safe everyone. 

6 Months Post Recovery Update

Hi guys

Its been half a year since I recovered from this dreaded disease. I had hoped the recovery would be faster and smoother but its been anything but that.

Here’s a list of symptoms that still exist and plague me :

  • Eyesight has still not recovered fully, I still get blurry at times and my eyes tire out easily.
  • Stamina is at an all time low. Usual chores make me tired and feel like resting or taking more naps.
  • Breathlessness still persists. Small tasks that take little effort leave me winded.
  • Insomnia is still a problem. I dont remember that last time I had a peaceful sleep.
  • Mental health seems to have taken a hit too. I feel much more low/depressed at times and things agitate me more often than pre-covid.
  • Post covid hair fall is no joke. I have lost more than half my hair. The hair fall has slowed down but I dont know how and when my normal hair thickness would return. I have been seeing much more grey hairs too.

It must be noted that I am now fully vaccinated.

Hope this article has helped someone somewhere.

Godspeed.